The University of Toronto is commemorating Canada’s 150th birthday with a number of speaker series, conferences, panel discussions, exhibits, workshops and podcasts. The support for many of these student- and faculty-led events is from funds created to help the University community recognize this important milestone.

Canada’s Sesquicentennial Initiative Fund

Canada’s Sesquicentennial Initiative Fund supports faculty members in academic initiatives tied to Canada’s 150th birthday. These may take the form of conferences, workshops, panels, or guest speakers, with all events taking place during the 2017 calendar year. The value of funding per initiative will be a maximum grant of $2,500 and will be matched by the division or academic unit leading the event.

Applications are now closed.

Canada 150 Student Fund @UofT

U of T undergraduate and graduate students from any campus are invited to apply for one of 8 awards of $1,000 each. Students can apply as an individual or as part of a group of U of T students and must develop a proposal of 250 words or less, plus a budget, for an initiative tied to the theme of Canada’s 150th birthday. The format of the activity or event is open, whether it be a visual display, a virtual panel discussion, a guest speaker, a YouTube video, etc. All funded initiatives will be featured here on our Canada 150 website.

Students are encouraged to take this chance to explore, challenge, or celebrate the connection between the University and Canada’s past, present and future. Proposals will be evaluated by a subcommittee of the Sesquicentennial Steering Committee.

Applications are now closed.

U of T Scarborough Canada150 Fund

The U of T Scarborough Canada150 Fund promotes greater public engagement with the University by supporting unique, one-time projects that reflect on the past, present and future of our campus; that offer critical reflection on Canadian history; and that demonstrate U of T Scarborough’s role in the Canada that is becoming. In the spirit of truth and reconciliation, special consideration is given to proposals that address Indigenous concerns.

$50,000 will be allocated to faculty, staff and students in two streams: two awards of up to $10,000 and awards of $3,000 – $5,000.

Applications are now closed.

150 Neighbours

150 Neighbours is a photo-documentary series marking the momentous occasion of Canada’s sesquicentennial, celebrating local accomplishments as part of our national festivities. This social-media driven and crowd-sourced campaign will feature 150 Scarborough community and nation builders – past and present – over 150 days, from Saturday, July 1st to Tuesday, November 28th.

University of Toronto Canada Sesquicentennial Steering Committee

Chair, Donald Ainslie (Professor and Principal, University College)

  • Larry Alford (University Chief Librarian)
  • Mahnoor Ayub (Undergraduate Student, University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM))
  • Pier Bryden (Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, and Pre-Clerkship Director, Undergraduate Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine)
  • Sydney Cabioc (Undergraduate Student, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)) graduate June 2016 – serving as alumnae member
  • Caroline Cormier (Graduate Student, History and Jewish Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science)
  • Elizabeth Cragg (Director, Office of the Vice-President, University Operations)
  • Barbara Dick (Assistant Vice-President, Alumni Relations)
  • Joshua Estrella (Undergraduate Student, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design)
  • Brian Gettler (Assistant Professor, Department of Historical Studies, UTM)
  • Jonathan Hamilton-Diabo (Director, Aboriginal Student Services, and Coordinator, Council on Aboriginal Initiatives)
  • Smaro Kamboureli (Professor and Avie Bennett Chair of Canadian Literature, Department of English)
  • Bruce Kidd (Professor and Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough)
  • Michael Kurts (Executive Director, Communications Partnerships)
  • Bryn MacPherson (Assistant Vice-President, Office of the President & Chief of Protocol)
  • Don McLean (Professor and Dean, Faculty of Music) Professor Robin Elliot, Faculty of Music serving as delegate 2016-17
  • John Monahan (Warden, Hart House) & Chair, of the C150 Student Fund SubCommittee
  • Janet Paterson (Professor, Department of French)
  • Ito Peng (Professor, Department of Sociology and School of Public Policy and Governance, and Director, Centre for Global Social Policy, Faculty of Arts and Science)
  • Marny Scully (Assistant-Vice President, Government, Institutional and Community Relations)

Cheryl Gibbs and Jane Johansen will provide support for the Committee.

For more information:

University of Toronto Sesquicentennial Steering Committee Membership
The University of Toronto’s Canada Sesquicentennial Steering Committee Terms of Reference
The Government of Canada: Canada 150